With the NHL playoffs having begun with hockey to watch every night of the week, I thought it might be appropriate to do a few blogs about hockey. And if my memory serves me correctly, a post from a few years ago on this topic garnered a lot more attention than did my posts about much more important topics! This seems to prove that hockey is Canada’s national religion because people get more passionate about it than God, politics, or religion.

So, before we get too far into the playoffs, here are my predictions:

I hope, along with all Leaf fans that the curse will be broken, and they will win at least the East, but more likely is that they will take Boston to seven games, and in the seventh game they will lead 4-1 going into the third period, only to give up three goals and lose in overtime.

The Rangers, Carolina, and Florida will all roll over their opponents in the first round. The Rangers will emerge victorious in the East.

I hope Vancouver, Edmonton, and Winnipeg, all win in the first round but it is more likely that only one of them will. I would have picked Vancouver to beat Nashville before Demko got injured; now, I’m not so confident. Sadly, Hellebuyck can’t seem to play Vezina-worthy in the playoffs. Don’t fling tomatoes, my fellow Canucks and Jets fans, I hope I’m wrong! There is nothing I would like more in NHL hockey than for one of these two teams to hoist their first Stanley Cup. Vancouver is on the way up and has a few more years to do it. I’m afraid time is running out for Winnipeg. Go Jets! That leaves us with the Oilers as the remaining Canadian dream to bring the Cup home, but…

Despite their little slump at the end of the season, Colorado is one of the best teams in the league and McKinnon is hot! They don’t need a good goaltender as was proven two years ago.

Beware of Vegas. They had a mediocre season, but they are a solid playoff team.

Yet, for and with and because of McDavid, Edmonton will win the West, then the Stanley Cup Final over the Rangers, bringing the Cup home to Canada.

As one with very limited hockey knowledge, I will not claim any accuracy beyond the shadow of a doubt, but when have the experts all been right? Let the arguments begin.

And remember, it may be called Canada’s national religion; but really, it’s only a game.