I experienced the reign of God on earth with all my senses one day a few months ago. I had not previously written it down other than in my journal, so it is time to be publicly grateful for it as this is the year of gratitude after all, and I don’t have these sorts of experiences every day!

It did not happen in a church. It did not happen while reading or discussing theology. It did not happen while encountering a grand mountain, a majestic waterfall, a giant tree, or a spectacular sunset. It happened at the grand opening of a pavilion set in the middle of a large community garden in Altona, Manitoba.

I joined a crowd of perhaps 100 people gathered for this festive occasion on a sunny fall afternoon in September. There were also some groups of people out in their plots more interested in harvesting vegetables than listening to speeches by dignitaries. I noticed people from every continent among those gathered. This seemed almost strange and surreal in a rural town of 4,000. There was a spirit of camaraderie and celebration in the air.

I could see the 150 or so plots full of vegetables around the pavilion and appreciated the beautiful design and all wood construction of the structure. I felt the pride of the community as they came together to celebrate their communal effort in fundraising, designing, and building. I could smell the clear prairie air, the composting leaves, and the harvest of produce. I tasted the hot dogs provided by the local grocery store. I touched the solid, fertile earth beneath my feet and felt the embrace of a good friend who was instrumental in organizing the project.

With all the other senses alive, it was what I heard that was the most memorable. I heard friendly chatter about the weather and how the tomatoes did this year, and I heard speeches of gratitude, hard work, and celebration, but it was all drowned out by a Filipino pop band launching into a rousing, upbeat song to the tune of the old hymn “I’ll Fly Away.” Escape-this-world lyrics were deliberately replaced with an earthy, realized eschatology by local songwriter Gary Klassen. “We’ll Garden Here.” Unbidden, the floodgates behind my eyes were suddenly opened. It was no less than an encounter with the divine. I knew only one person there, yet in the midst of that diverse community from every continent come together in a community garden in one prairie town to put their hands in the dirt to harvest sustenance and joy for their bodies, I experienced what it means for the reign of God to come to earth.

Gather round, this is common ground; we’ll garden here.

Soil and water, seeds and sun; we’ll garden here.

Rooted in the earth, reaching for the sun; we’ll garden here.

Wide open space, smile on every face; we’ll garden here.

Vast and tranquil, little prairie town ; we’ll garden here.

Gather round, welcome everyone; we’ll garden here.

We’ll garden here, Altona; we’ll garden here.

Gather round, this is common ground; we’ll garden here.