I’m shutting down my computer for a few days of sabbatical over Christmas. I do want to make one more post wrapping up the year of blogging. I’m not certain if I will continue. If I do it will need to be a deliberate decision with a sense of purpose.

I just posted a new slide show of some old pictures. Our family did a cross Canada trip in 2007. It was memorable. At the end of the year I reflect on the past and was thinking about this trip recently and thought I should show it to our new daughter-in-law who will be with us for the first time this Christmas. I’ll let all of my blog followers in on it as well. You can find it under “slide shows.”

Political Advent post #3. I support the “Idle No More” protests by young indiginous people across Canada. I know we can’t turn back the clock and undo all that European settlers have done but we can be fair and treat people with respect as they have done so graciously in welcoming us to their land.

I think today was supposed to be the end of the world because some Mayan calendar ran out of days or something. Everyone seemed to have a good laugh but I don’t think it’s a bad idea to seize the day and live with a sense of urgency and immediacy, not with a sense of dread but to be fully present in the present. “The practice of the presence of God” as it were.

Merry Christmas!

