This question was asked of me by some students this past week. I can’t speak for all since the range of activities is probably wide but here is what is on my list of things I hope to do.

Sunday: I signed up for an overnight at our church’s extreme weather shelter.

Monday: I have a meeting to discuss our finances at Mennonite Foundation.

Tuesday: My son needs to have a tooth pulled so I will accompany him to the dentist.

Wednesday: My wife and I will go out for dinner and go to a Steve Bell concert.

Thursday: My turn at the dentist.

Friday and Saturday: I will be participating in various meetings of Mennonite Church British Columbia that are being hosted by our church. Stuart Murray is the guest speaker so I’m kind of excited about that since I’ve read a number of his books and used them as texts.

Every day has an activity but in between I hope to do daily food preparation for the family [I really enjoy cooking and will have more time to experiment this week!], lecture preparation and of course reading since it is reading week after all! I usually have a few books on the go at the same time. Here are some of them:

Go to Church Change the World, Church in the Present Tense, and Worship and Mission after Christendom, possible texts for my Church and Culture course next year.

Falling Upward by Richard Rohr, a book about midlife spirituality.

Kicking at the Darkness by Brian Walsh [one of my former profs], a book about Bruce Cockburn’s [one of my favorite song writers] life and music.

Insurrection by Peter Rollins

Forgiveness by John Ruth, a book about the tragedy at the Amish school in Nickel Mines, PA

